Twenty-five years ago, Roy Rosenzweig founded our Center with the goal of democratizing access to information for anyone interested in history. In October 2019, we began an anniversary fund raising campaign for the Center to help us continue Roy’s legacy of innovation in the digital humanities.

For this campaign we want to raise $75,000 for an innovation fund that will allow us to pursue new ideas and projects outside of existing streams of support for the digital humanities. We want to raise $50,000 to support new opportunities for our graduate students, that will allow them to take part in national and international exchange programs at other digital humanities centers and to support ideas that they generate on their own. And we want to increase the endowment for the Roy Rosenzweig Prize given each year by the American Historical Association by $25,000.

We are pleased to announce an opening donation of $25,000 for the campaign from our long-time partners at the Digital  Scholar, and we hope that you will join with us today to help us raise the funds we need to achieve our goals for RRCHNM.

RRCHNM is supported in part by an endowment made possible by National Endowment for the Humanities Challenge Grants awarded in 1998 and 2008. The second Challenge grant was linked to a campaign to name the Center in honor of Roy Rosenzweig. Gifts from that fundraising campaign are acknowledged on this donor board located at the entrance to the Center.

The Center also administers the endowment raised to support the American Historical Association’s Roy Rosenzweig Prize for Innovation in Digital History. In 2014 an ongoing gift from an anonymous donor created the Director’s Fund, which provides funds for current use.

How do we spend income from the endowment?

An Endowment report can be found in the Center’s Annual Report, which is published each Fall.

From 2013-2018, income from the endowment paid a portion of the salaries of the Center’s Grant Administrator and Systems Administrator. Neither position can be included in the grants that fund the Center’s work. Beginning in 2018, the College of Humanities and Social Sciences at GMU agreed to fully fund those positions. In 2018-19, the endowment supports a Postdoctoral Fellow in Digital Teaching and Learning, to allow the Center to maintain its work in the area of K-12 education.

Since 2015, the Director’s Fund has supported a variety of on-going and one-off initiatives: the publication of the Annual Report, and Current Research in Digital History, a new annual conference and peer-reviewed online publication; and a redesign of the Center website, and an update of the software platform of Teaching History, the Center’s most visited site.

Beginning in 2015, RRCHNM launched a campaign to increase philanthropic support to grow the endowment to recover losses from the financial collapse of 2008 and provide a sustainable future for the Center. We thank those who have renewed their support of the Center:

43rd Bomb Group Association Jean-Christophe Agnew Erin J. Bell
Johannes D. Bergmann Harlow A. Bickford Charlene N. Bickford
David S. Bill, IV Ian Bird Marilyn S. Blois
Beverly A. Blois, Jr Gail A. Bohan David Bohan
Sheila A. Brennan Sally A. Brett David B. Brown
William S. Carnell Susanne H. Carnell William C. Carpenter
Ellen N. Carpenter Joel R. Censer Herrick E. Chapman
Daming Chen Faolan Cheslack-Postava Peter G. Claymore
Carla M. Claymore Daniel J. Cohen Lizabeth A. Cohen
Rachel C. Cohen John R. Cooper Melissa A. Dabas
Marion F. Deshmukh Ashok Deshmukh Mary Louise Devlin
Mary Dudziak Geoffrey H Eley Beverly S Ellis
Donald R. Fairman Rose M. Fairman Jeffrey G. Feagin
Leslie Feazell Schill Ford’s Theatre Society Gary Gerstle
Eleanor P. Greene Michele M. Greet Tim Gresback
Casey Harison Janis G. Harless Richard Harless
Leigh Harrison Daniel M. Hausman Nancy A. Hewitt
Devon L. Hodges Mack P. Holt Margaret H. Holt
Joy R. Hughes Rosemary Jann Jewish Communal Fund
Christian Jones Mark H. Jones Kelly Jones
James H. Joy Catherine C. Kautsky Scott Keeter
Bassel Khoury Gary J. Kornblith Susan L. Lanson
Carol S. Lasser Steven F. Lawson Brian Lee
Kenneth Lee Sharon M. Leon Lance Lerum
Jan Lerum Cornelia R. Levine Somask Likhitrattanapisal
Elizabeth A. Lunbeck Rebecca Mark Matthew Martinez
Robert I. Matz Teresa L. Michals Maureen C. Miller
Colin B. Mitchell Catherine Mizell-Nelson Harland S. Nelson
Corinne L. Nelson Sarah M. Nelson Heather C. Oberle
George D. Oberle, III John R. Orens Orex Digital
Timothy Owens Steven Patterson Rita M. Rack
Sergey Rashchenko Jason Rhody Jennifer L. Ritterhouse
Stephen M. Robertson Elizabeth C. Rowe James K. Russell
David Sampson Catherine E. Saunders Joseph T. Scheinfeldt
Anne Scheinfeldt Joseph V. Schill, III Linda J Seligmann
Tim Sherratt Martin J. Sherwin Nathaniel J. Shie
Linda Shopes Amanda Shuman Damian A. Smith
Susan Smulyan Keith Stanger Eric V Swanson
David Thelen Kenneth C. Thompson Troy D. Thompson
Jackie C. Thompson Shelly R. Thompson Daniel J. Tyson
Terry J. Tyson University of Texas System Verizon Foundation
Daniel J. Walkowitz Judith Walkowitz Terry A. Wallace
Beverly C. Walters    

Support the Center Today